Environment, Health & Safety Committee

The Environment, Health & Safety Committee works with members, government, and other associations to ensure that the mineral exploration community is able to work safely and productively.

The Committee was formed in October 1980 by the late David Barr following a particularly tragic year in exploration in western Canada when nine individuals, including two pilots, lost their lives in separate helicopter accidents. The Committee produces Safety Guidelines for Mineral Exploration in Western Canada, collaborates with PDAC on the annual Canadian Mineral Exploration Environment, Health & Safety Survey, and holds annual mineral exploration safety workshops. The Committee also presents the David Barr Award for leadership and innovation in health and safety in the mineral exploration sector.

Members as of October 2016:

Janice Fingler, Chair
Kim Bilquist, Vice-Chair
Chris Brodie
Deb Bryant
Bryan Cox
Howard Davies
Angie van den Hout 
Aaron Frost
Maria Gabriel
Kory Hnidan
Holly Keyes
Scott Kingston
Bill Mercer
Mick Murphy
Erin O'Brien
Buck Page
Jill Pardoe 
Charles Parkinson
Rob Pease
Matthew Pickard
Dave Thompson
Matt Turner
Dylan Wallinger 
Marke Wong

Jonathan Buchanan, Staff Lead
Rick Conte, Staff Support
Gavin C. Dirom, Staff Support

Want to join this committee? Email info@amebc.ca for more information.