AME BC Speaker Series

Previous Speakers: 

Michael Campbell: Economic Realities for Mineral Explorers and Developers

Our last installment of the 2015 AME BC Speaker Series Luncheon featureed Michael Campbell, Business Analyst, Broadcaster and Author.

The luncheon took place on Tuesday, December 8 at Hyatt Regency Hotel in Vancouver.

Robert Quartermain: Pretivm's Brucejack Project: BC's Next High Grade Gold Mine

Our first installment of the 2015 AME BC Speaker Series Luncheon featured Robert A. Quartermain, Chairman and CEO of Pretivm Resources Inc.

The luncheon took place on Wednesday, September 23 at the Terminal City Club in Vancouver.

Mr. Quartermain's talk discussed how Pretivm is creating value through gold at its 100%-owned, underground Brucejack Project in northern British Columbia, one of the highest-grade undeveloped gold projects in the world.  Since discovery of the Valley of the Kings in 2011, the project has advanced rapidly. The Federal and Provincial Environmental Permits have been received and Pretivm is targeting commercial production to commence in 2017.

The AME BC Speaker Series is a networking lunch event that provides invaluable opportunities for members to connect with industry leaders to gain first-hand accounts of current and upcoming issues in the mineral exploration and development sector.

2015 Sponsors

AME BC would sincerely like to thank our sponsors of the 2015 Series:

Premier Sponsors:

   Pricewaterhousecooper - web              

To become a sponsor at the 2016 Speaker Series Events please contact Fiona Matalon, Events Coordinator at 604.630.3924 or

Past Speakers Include:


  • Ned Goodman, President and CEO, Dundee Corporation. Bio.
  • Diane Francis (National Post) Bio and Photo Gallery.
  • Chief Clarence Louie (Osoyoos Indian Band) Bio and Photo Gallery.
  • Dr. Don Wright President, BCIT and Paul Henning of Rio Tinto
  • Vivian Krause (Vancouver-based writer and researcher)
  • Ross Beaty, Executive Chairman, Alterra Power Corp.
  • Robert Quartermain, President, CEO and Director, Pretivm Resources Inc.
  • Don Lindsay, President & Chief Executive Officer, Teck Resources Limited
  • Patricia Mohr; Vice-President, Economics and Commodity Market Specialist; The Scotiabank Group, Toronto
  • Geoff Plant, Partner, Heenan Blaikie
  • Geoffrey Burns, President and CEO, Pan American Silver Corp.
  • Wei Shao; Counsel, China Practice; Blake, Cassels and Graydon LLP (Vancouver office)
  • Rick Van Nieuwenhuyse, President & CEO, NovaGold Resources Inc. / Don Lindsay, President & CEO, Teck Resources Limited (formerly Teck Cominco Limited) / Curtis Rattray, former Chairperson, Tahltan Central Council
  • Rex McLennan, former Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, VANOC
  • Randy Smallwood, President & CEO, Silver Wheaton 


  • Honourable George Abbott, BC Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation; and Gwaans (Beverley Clifton Percival), Member and Negotiator, Gitxsan Hereditary Chiefs; and Chair, BC All Chiefs’ Task Force
  • National Chief Phil Fontaine, Assembly of First Nations
  • Honourable Randy Hawes, BC Minister of State for Mining; and the Honourable Pat Bell, BC Minister of Forests, Mines and Lands
  • Honourable Gordon Hogg, Minister of State for Mining
  • Carole James, Leader of the Official Opposition, BC Legislative Assembly
  • Honourable Gary Lunn, Minister of Natural Resources Canada 
  • Honourable Carole Taylor, BC Minister of Finance
  • Honourable Bill Bennett, BC Minister of Energy and Mines  
  • Thomas Isaac, Partner and Leader National Aboriginal Law Practice of Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP