The Association for Mineral Exploration recognizes leaders in mineral exploration and development at AME’s Awards Gala: A Celebration of Excellence to be held at AME Roundup 2023 at the Vancouver Convention Centre on January 25, 2023.

VANCOUVER, British Columbia, November 29, 2022 – The Association for Mineral Exploration (“AME”) is pleased to announce its 2022 Celebration of Excellence Award recipients. The recipients are recognized for their remarkable contributions, achievements, innovation and leadership in the mineral exploration and development industry. They will be celebrated at the prestigious AME Awards Gala to be held at the Vancouver Convention Centre West on Wednesday, January 25, 2023. Tickets are available through AME Roundup 2023 registration at

This year’s award recipients are:

  • Maggie Layman is the recipient of the 2022 AME H.H. “Spud” Huestis Award for her significant contribution to developing the geological model which allowed Barkerville Gold Mines (BGM) to define 4.3 million ounces of gold in new underground resources at the Cariboo Gold Project near Wells, BC. In addition to helping to revive a historic mining district, Maggie is committed to fostering the development of young geologists.
  • John Robins is recognized as the 2022 AME Murray Pezim Award recipient for his significant contribution to advancing the financing of numerous mineral exploration and development projects, generating over $500 million in direct and indirect mineral expenditures throughout Canada, Latin America and Australia and over $1 billion in merger and acquisition activity.
  • Craig Parry, Steve Blower, Andy Carmichael, and Justin Rodko are recognized with the 2022 AME Colin Spence Award for their discovery of the Hurricane Zone on the Larocque East property in 2018, arguably the most significant recent uranium discovery in the historically productive eastern part of the Athabasca Basin, Saskatchewan.
  • Clement (Clem) Pelletier is the recipient of the 2022 AME Robert R. Hedley Award for Excellence in Social and Environmental Responsibility, sponsored by ERM. Clem is recognized for his leadership and contributions over more than 50 years, particularly in directing large environmental and social impact studies, providing training opportunities for Indigenous groups and permitting major projects in BC and throughout the world.
  • The VRIFY Product & Development Team receives the 2022 AME Innovation Award for its groundbreaking work developing an interactive 3D and 360-degree presentation platform for exploration and mining companies to communicate with investors.
  • Larry Jones is acknowledged with a Special Tribute from AME for his leadership in assembling and distributing the British Columbia Geological Survey databases and geospatial datasets and for leading his team in the design, development and marketing of MapPlace, an internet-based geographic information system providing access to BC geospatial data to diverse client groups.
  • Ed Beswick is awarded the 2022 AME David Barr Award for his leadership as Inspector of Mines in Prince George: Ed was instrumental in promoting safety on every visit he made to exploration sites throughout the Cariboo and Prince George areas over many years. 
  • Lana Eagle is recognized with the AME Frank Woodside Gold Pan Award for her distinguished service to AMEA natural relationship builder with the ability to strategically connect Indigenous groups with industry, her legacy includes The Gathering Place at AME Roundup, which celebrated its 10th year in January 2022, along with more than a decade of guidance and direction in how the industry approaches Indigenous relations and reconciliation.
  • Britannia Mine Museum is the recipient of AME’s Outreach Education Fund to support the ongoing development and growth of the Museum’s programming to enhance the Earth Materials content to appeal to a wide range of visitors, educators and professionals.

For more information about the award recipients, download the AME Awards 2022 citations.

Jill Tsolinas, Chair of the AME Board of Directors, commented, “Today, on behalf of the AME Board of Directors, I congratulate the diverse group of industry leaders recognized with AME Awards in 2022. Each recipient has gone above and beyond to achieve, contribute and innovate in their mineral exploration and development specialty. I look forward to celebrating their distinguished service, leadership and contributions at the Awards Gala at AME Roundup 2023.”

A limited number of sponsorship opportunities remain for the AME Awards Gala event on Wednesday, January 25, 2023. If you would like your company to be recognized at the event, please email [email protected].  


Media Contact

Morgan Murphy, Smithcom

Phone: 416-629-2143

Email: [email protected]