The committees of AME are the driving force and expertise behind our advocacy work and are key contributors to the overall success of the Association.

Join a Committee

Aboriginal Relations Committee

The Aboriginal Relations Committee was created to assist AME members in understanding and addressing First Nations’ and Aboriginal peoples’ priorities, challenges and issues, particularly in BC, as well as to assist First Nations and Aboriginal peoples in understanding the mineral exploration and mining sector.

Read More

This committee encourages positive relationships with First Nations and Aboriginal peoples and assists AME to develop initiatives and programs that will further the interests of its members and of Aboriginal peoples.

Staff lead: Glen Wonders 604.630.3928

Awards Committee

The AME Awards Committee solicits, receives, and adjudicates nominations for the Annual AME Awards. These awards include the H.H. “Spud” Huestis Award, E.A. Scholz Award, Murray Pezim Award, Hugo Dummett Diamond Award, Colin Spence Award, and the Robert R. Hedley Award.

Read More

They formally recommend recipients of awards to the AME Board of Directors, preserve the integrity and promote the significance of the AME Awards, and manage the AME Outreach Education Fund.

Staff lead: Helena Tse 604.630.3930

Communications and Marketing Committee

The AME Communications and Marketing Committee assists AME and its Board in providing timely and effective communication to its members and other key audiences such as government, the public, and other communities of interest.

Read More

The Committee provides regular reports on communications initiatives and issues as well as Committee activities, and recommends actions regarding communication initiatives at AME Board meetings.

Staff lead: Jonathan Buchanan 604.630.3923

Environment, Health & Safety Committee

The Environment, Health & Safety Committee works with members, government, and other associations to ensure that the mineral exploration community is able to work safely and productively.

Read More
The Committee was formed in October 1980 by the late David Barr following a particularly tragic year in exploration in western Canada when nine individuals, including two pilots, lost their lives in separate helicopter accidents. The Committee produces Safety Guidelines for Mineral Exploration in Western Canada, collaborates with PDAC on the annual Canadian Mineral Exploration Environment, Health & Safety Survey, and holds annual mineral exploration safety workshops. The Committee also presents the David Barr Award for leadership and innovation in health and safety in the mineral exploration sector.

Staff lead: Jonathan Buchanan 604.630.3923

Finance Committee

Members of the AME Finance Committee review, on behalf of the Board of Directors, the preparation of the annual operating budget and the quarterly and annual financial statements, as well as our returns on investment assets and other related matters.

Staff lead: Patricia Morrison 604.630.3922

Integrated Social Responsibility Committee

The AME Integrated Social Responsibility (ISR) Committee is a group of industry, government and consulting representatives and practitioners engaged in mineral exploration, development and mining in Canada and internationally. Through educational events, networking and outreach, the Committee supports AME’s members with the resources to augment the value of their exploration and development projects through the adoption of industry best-practices in socially responsible exploration.

Read More

AME collaborates with institutions such as Canadian Institute of Mining & Metallurgy (CIM), Mining Association of Canada (MAC), Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada (PDAC), and other partners on socially responsible industry initiatives. Sharing best practices and adopting high standards of environmental and social responsibility supports our industry in developing coal and mineral properties successfully, and creating enduring economic development to support the wellbeing of local communities. Watch for periodic ISR Committee Community of Practice and Learning Events throughout the year.

AME ISR Committee Learning Sessions
Produced by Sustainability TV 

Staff lead: Diana Walls 604.630.3924

Land Access & Use Committee

The Land Access and Use Committee facilitates AME’s Board of Directors in advocating for continued and certain access to land sufficient to maintain a successful and sustainable coal and mineral exploration and development industry in BC.

Read More

The Committee’s work includes tracking and reviewing land use, access and planning initiatives and challenges and preparing position papers for the Board as required.

Staff lead: Diana Walls 604.630.3924

Membership Committee

Staff lead: Roxanne Finnie 604.630.3927

Mineral Exploration Editorial Board

The Mineral Exploration Editorial Board provides advice and guidance on the content of AME’s magazine, Mineral Exploration. The magazine was first established in 1981 as Mining Review and first appointed an Editorial Board in 2003 (the magazine was renamed Mineral Exploration in 2006).

Read More

The goals of the Editorial Board are to, through the magazine, to:

  • Keep Members informed of AME business, member news and technical issues.
  • Provide members a vehicle to freely express opinions about AME business, professional, technical and field issues.
  • Advance the goals of AME.
  • Educate members and non-members about exploration and mine development issues and opportunities.

Staff lead: Jonathan Buchanan 604.630.3923

Roundup Organizing Committee

The purpose of the AME Roundup Organizing Committee is to plan and execute the AME annual Mineral Exploration Roundup conference.

Read More

Old-Timer’s Subcommittee

The AME Old-Timer’s Committee, a subcommittee of the Roundup Committee, reviews candidates eligible to become Old-Timers and maintains the invitation list for the annual Old-Timer’s luncheon that takes place at the Mineral Exploration Roundup conference. “Old-Timers” are at least 70 years of age and have made a significant contribution to either AME or the BC mineral exploration community in general.

Staff lead: Simone Hill 604.630.3921

Taxation, Securities & Investment Committee

The Taxation, Securities and Investment (TSI) Committee is tasked with providing expertise in the areas of tax, securities law and capital investment as it relates to the mineral exploration and mining industry, with an objective to grow AME’s collective knowledge in those areas and advise on appropriate public advocacy. 

Read More

The TSI Committee will provide support, advice and planning as required by the Board. This Committee was approved as a standing Committee on June 23, 2015.

Staff lead: Glen Wonders 604.630.3928

Transboundary Relations Committee

The Transboundary Relations Committee was created to assist AME members with key messages and reaching out to governments and stakeholders regarding mineral exploration and development projects that are being scrutinized by entities, organizations and government bodies for potential effects in adjacent jurisdictions.

Staff lead: Glen Wonders 604.630.3928