Loading Events

Free / Online

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

AME Awards Gala

May 13, 2021 @ 4:45 pm 6:30 pm PDT

Pour your favourite drink and join the live and interactive party on May 13 to celebrate the remarkable achievements of those in the mineral exploration and development industry. Be inspired, share stories and connect with friends in the live chat from the comfort of your home!

The virtual event will be emceed by Rob McLeod and Vanessa Pickering who will be sure to keep you all engaged with their witty banter! Expect a game of Trivia,  a chance to win a 10 oz silver bar and some good ole’ AME Awards Gala spirit as we celebrate the best in mineral exploration for the year.

Trivia begins at 4:45 PM be sure to log on early to gain the most amount of points and your chance to win prizes! Trivia sponsored by Dolly Varden Silver.

It’s FREE to attend – RSVP now to toast the outstanding accomplishments of our 2020 award recipients!


Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors

Sponsorship opportunities are available for the AME Awards Gala, please email [email protected] for more information.

Celebrating our 2020 Award Recipients!

Charlie Greig

AME 2020 H.H. “Spud” Huestis Award for significant contributions to enhancing the mineral resources of BC and/or the Yukon Territory

As the VP Exploration of GT Gold Corp., Charlie led the exploration team that discovered the Saddle copper-gold and gold-silver deposits on the company’s Tatogga Property. Charlie is renowned for advancing mineral exploration projects with efficiency and professionalism.

Lukas H. Lundin

AME 2020 Murray Pezim Award for significant contributions to the mineral exploration and mining community by a financier.

Lukas is recognized for his perseverance fortitude and capital markets proficiency in the mining sector. Throughout his 40-year career, Lukas has raised over $23 billion CAD and in 2006, formed the Lundin Foundation, a non-profit organization with a mission to invest in people and communities in need.

Callum Baxter and Fraser MacCorquodale

AME 2020 Colin Spence Award for excellence in global mineral exploration.

Their discovery and fast track exploration at the Havieron Project, located in Western Australia was made possible due to the tireless efforts and knowledge of Callum, and an aggressive exploration campaign using the latest targeting technology led by Fraser.

Justin Himmelright

AME 2020 Robert R. Hedley Award for excellence in social and environmental responsibility.

Justin has shown leadership in putting social and environmental values up front through the launch of the Skeena Tahltan Mentorship Program, his advocacy of the BC Regional Mining Alliance, and the development of a UBC graduate level course: “Mining and Indigenous Peoples of Canada.”

Steve Irwin

AME 2020 Frank Woodside Gold Pan Award for distinguished volunteer service to AME resulting in a profound impact on the success or direction of the Association.

For 22 years, Steve has been a committed volunteer of AME’s Roundup Organizing Committee and has been integral to shaping the conference through its many transformations.

Dave Green

AME 2020 David Barr Award for his leadership in health and safety in mineral exploration.

Over 30 years, Dave has trained and mentored young Indigenous workers to operate safely and efficiently, many of whom are thriving as miners, mechanics, drillers and geotechnicians.

Andy Randell

AME 2020 Special Tribute Award for service to the British Columbia minerals industry.

Andy is a founder of the non-profit society, Below BC, which provides public outreach and educational opportunities. He is a dedicated mentor of earth science students, and in 2019 created the Virtual Mineral Museum which is now used by many post-secondary institutions.

View more information about the award recipients in the Full Backgrounder and Citations